2019 Karnataka National and Regional Public Holidays

January 14 Sankranti
January 26 Republic Day
March 04 Maha Shivratri
April 01 Bank Holiday
April 06 Ugadi
April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
April 16 Basava Jayanthi
April 17 Mahavir Jayanti
April 19 Good Friday
May 01 May Day
June 05 Idul Fitr
August 12 Idul Juha
August 15 Independence Day
September 02 Ganesh Chaturthi
September 10 Muharram (10th Day)
September 29 Mahalaya
October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday
October 07 Ayudha Puja
October 08 Dussehra
October 13 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday
October 27 Deepavali
November 01 Kannada Rajyothsava
November 10 Id-e-Milad
November 26 Narak Chaturdashi
December 25 Christmas Day


Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday are observed nationally.

Public Holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates correspond to the holidays of the Indian government, when government offices will be closed throughout the country. In addition, there are many festivals and fairs that are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which vary from year to year.

Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.

Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year’s Day are observed nationally.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment