Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views :
Home / Information / Hartalika Teej | Hariyali Teej | Akha Teej | Kajari Teej

Hartalika Teej | Hariyali Teej | Akha Teej | Kajari Teej


The fasting observed on Shukla Paksha Tritiya of Bhadrapada month is known as Hartalika Teej Vrat. On this day, temporary statues of Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati are made with sand and worshipped for gaining marital bliss and child birth.

There is a legend associated with Hartalika Teej by which it got its name. Hartalika is combination of two words, “Harat” meaning “abduction”; and “Aalika” meaning “female friend”. Legend says that the friend of Goddess Parvati took her to the thick forest that prevented her father from getting her married to Lord Vishnu, against her wish.

Hartalika Teej Festival

Morning time is considered auspicious to perform Hartalika Puja. However, if due to some reason, the morning Puja is not possible, then Pradosh time can be considered to perform Shiva-Parvati Puja. Devotees should take early bath and should be dressed in fine clothes before performing Teej Puja. Sand sculptures of Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati should be worshipped and legend associated with Hartalika should be narrated during the Puja.

Hartalika Vrat is known by the name Gowri Habba in Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu and it is regarded as a very important festival to get blessing of Goddess Gowri. On the day of Gowri Habba, women devotees observe Swarna Gowri Vrat to seek blessings of Goddess Gowri for marital bliss.

Teej festivity is observed elaborately by women in North Indian states, especially in Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Bihar. There are three famous Teej festivals celebrated by women during Sawan and Bhadrapada months, which are Hariyali Teej, Kajari Teej and Hartalika Teej.

Other Teej festivals like Akha Teej, also known as Akshaya Tritiya and Gangaur Tritiya are not part of the Teej festivals referred above
Haritalika Teej is observed on Shukla Paksha Tritiya of Bhadrapada month. Haritalika Teej occurs one month after Hariyali Teej and usually it is celebrated one day before Ganesh Chaturthi.

Rituals Of Hartalika Teej:
Females observe Hartalika Teej Vrat on the day of Hartalika Teej.
A Nirjala Vrat (without water) is observed on Hartalika Teej.
People who observe a fast on Teej stay awake the whole night.
Goddess Parvati and Lord Shiva are worshiped on Hartalika Teej.
These are some of common rituals that are performed while observing Hartalika Teej. Let’s see what is the benefit of observing Hartalika Teej.

Benefit Of Hartalika Teej
It is believed that those who observe the fast of Hartalika Teej, Lord Shiva fulfills all the desires of those devotees.
The states in which Hartalika Teej is celebrated on a large scale are Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh, and Bihar.
We have highlighted the significance of the word ‘Teej’ in an elaborated form. Let’s discuss.
While Akha Teej is observed on the third day of Shukla Paksha of Hindu month Vaishakh, Hariyali Teej takes place on third day during Shukla Paksha of Shravan Maas; Kajari Teej and Hartalika Teej are observed on the third day of Krishna Paksha and Shukla Paksha, respectively during Bhadrapada Maas. Since, all the Teej festivals occur on the third day of their respective months, hence its name.
Now that you know about all four Teej festivals, let’s find out what is the real story behind celebrating Teej.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *