Best Spiritual Website

108 Divya Desams

In this article, we will delve into the spiritual significance of the 108 Divya Desams. These are considered to be the holy abodes of Lord Vishnu and hold immense religious value for Hindus. The term “Divya Desam” refers to the 108 temples located across India, which are believed to have been visited and glorified by the twelve Azhvars, who were prominent saint poets in the Tamil tradition.

Pilgrimage to these sacred temples is a vital part of Hinduism, as it is believed to bring immense blessings and spiritual merit to devotees. The temples are scattered across the length and breadth of India, and each temple is unique in its architecture, history, and significance. Visiting all the 108 Divya Desams is considered a crucial part of achieving moksha or liberation from the cycle of birth and death.

The Azhvars composed devotional poetry in praise of Lord Vishnu and their works are considered to be a vital part of the Tamil literary canon. The stories and legends surrounding each of the 108 Divya Desams are fascinating, and a visit to each of these temples can be an enriching and enlightening experience.

In conclusion, the 108 Divya Desams represent a vital aspect of Hindu spirituality and are a testament to the rich cultural and religious heritage of India. Visiting these temples is a significant milestone for any devout Hindu, and it is believed to bring immense blessings and spiritual progress.

108 Sri Vishnu Temples, 108 Divyadesam, 108 Lord Vishnu Temples, Sri Vishnu Main Temples, 108 Maha Vishnu Temples List, 108 Vishnu temples,

Thrikkakara Vamana Moorthy Temple Timings, History

Thrikkakara Vamana Moorthy Temple or Thirukatkarai Vamanamoorthy is the only temple in India dedicated to Sri Vamana Avatar. This Ancient Vaishnava Temple is situated in Thrikkakara, Kochi, Kerala. Thrikkakara Temple has about 18 important stone inscriptions dating back to the 10th to 13th Century AD. The main temple of Vamana also has shrines for Bhagavathi, […]

Aranmula Parthasarathy Temple Hours, History

Aranmula Parthasarathy Temple is one of the 108 Divya Desam/Vishnu temples which is situated on the banks of Pampa River in Aranmula village, Pathanamthitta District, Kerala. It is believed that the idol of Sri Maha Vishnu was brought here in a raft made up of six bamboo. It is one of the five ancient shrines […]

Kanchipuram Deepaprakasa Perumal Temple Timings, History

Tiruththanka or Tooppul or Deepaprakasa Perumal Temple is one of the 108 Divyadesam, located in Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu. This ancient Sri Vishnu temple was constructed in the Dravidian style of architecture, the temple is glorified in the Divya Prabandha, the early medieval Tamil canon of the Azhwar saints from the 6th–9th centuries CE. Here Lord […]

Kanchipuram Aadhi Varaha Perumal Temple Timings, History

Sri Aadhi Varaha Perumal Temple is a 1600 years old Vaishnava temple situated inside the Sri Kanchi Kamakshi Amman Temple in Big Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu. This Varaha Temple is one of the 108 Divya Desams the holy abodes of Lord Vishnu located in Kanchipuram. It is one of the two temples in Kanchipuram, where a […]

Sree Padmanabha Swamy Temple Hours, History, Dress Code

Anantha Padmanabhaswamy or Padmanabhaswamy Temple is a famous Vishnu Temple located in Thiruvananthapuram, the capital of Kerala. Thiruvananthapuram in Tamil and Malayalam means The City of Lord Ananta / Lord Vishnu, which refers to the main deity of the temple. The temple is built in Chera and Dravidian style of architecture. This is one of […]

Nilathingal Thundathan Perumal Temple Timings, History

Nilathingal Thundathan Perumal Temple is also called Nilthingal Thundam Perumal Temple and Chandrasoodeswarar Perumal Temple is a 1000 years old temple located in Kanchipuram District, Tamil Nadu. This is one of the 108 Divya Desams of Sri Vishnu, here all poojas are performed by the Saivite priests. This Vishnu temple is located on the North-East […]

Kanchipuram Pandava Thoothar Perumal Temple Timings, History

Pandavathoothar Perumal or Pandava Thoothar Perumal or Sri Pandava Thootha Perumal or Thirupadagam or Pandava Dutha Perumal Temple is a famous and ancient Sri Krishna Temple situated in Periya Kanchi, Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu. Sri Krishna is worshiped as Sri Pandava Thoothar with his consorts Rukmini and Sathya Bama. He is found in Irundha (sitting) Thirukkolam, […]

Kanchipuram Sri Vaikunda Perumal Temple Timings

Kanchipuram Sri Vaikunta Perumal Temple or Thiru Parameswara Vinnagaram is dedicated to Sri Vishnu, located in Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu State. It is one among the 108 Divyadesam dedicated to Sri Vishnu, who is worshipped as Vaikuntanathan (Lord Paramapadanathan) and his consort is Sri Lakshmi as Sri Vaikundavalli. Built in the Dravidian architectural style, the temple […]

Kanchipuram Sri Thirukkaar Vaanar Temple Timings, History

Sri Thirukkaar Vaanar Temple or Thiru Karvaanam is the 53rd kshetram of 108 divya desam and mangalasasanam was done by Thirumangai Azhwar. Moolavar is Sri Kalvar / Sri Thirukkaar Vaanar / Thirukkaar Vaanakkalvar and Goddess is Sri Komalavalli ( Thamaraiyal ) Nachiyar. Thirukaarvaanar Temple is located in Big Kanchipuram, Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu State. Kanchi Sri […]

Kanchipuram Sri Karunakara Perumal Temple Timings, History

Sri Karunakara Perumal Temple or Thiru Kaaragam is the 52nd kshetram of 108 divya desam and mangalasasanam was done by Thirumangai Azhwar. The Moolavar is Sri Karunakara Perumal / Kaaragathan and Thayar is Sri Padmamani Nachiyar / Ramamani Nachiyaar. Sri Karunakara Perumal temple is within the Thiru Ooragam also known as Ulgalantha Perumal temple. Akraaya […]

Scroll to top