Temples in India Info: Hindu Spiritual & Devotional Stotrams, Mantras

Your One-Stop Destination for PDFs, Temple Timings, History, and Pooja Details!

Nine Avatars of Goddess Durga

1st Avatar Shailaputri (Daughter of the Himalayas)

2nd Avatar Brahmacharini (One who observes the state of celibacy doing penance)
3rd Avatar Chandraghanta ( One who bears the moon in her necklace )durga-Chandraghanta

4th Avatar Kushmanda (The creator of the universe)


5th Avatar  Skanda mata (The mother of Skanda, Kārttikeya, born out of her powers)


6th Avatar  Katyayani (The daughter of sage Kātyāyana, who incarnated to help the Devas)


7th Avatar Kalaratri (black as night, destroyer of Kali)


8th Avatar Mahagauri (the wife of Lord Shiva, doing great penance)


9th Avatar Siddhidatri (Provider of Siddhis, giver of mystic powers)durga_siddhidatri

2 thoughts on “Nine Avatars of Goddess Durga

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top