Best Spiritual Website

2018 Skanda Sashti Vrat Dates | Skanda Sashti Vratam in 2018

Skanda Sashti Monday 22 January
Skanda Sashti Wednesday 21 February
Skanda Sashti Thursday 22 March
Skanda Sashti Saturday 21 April

Skanda Sashti Sunday 20 May
Skanda Sashti Monday 18 June
Skanda Sashti Tuesday 17 July
Skanda Sashti Thursday 16 August

Skanda Sashti Friday 14 September
Skanda Sashti Sunday 14 October
Soora Samharam Tuesday 13 November
Subrahmanya Sashti Thursday 13 December

Kanda Sashti Soorasamharam

About Skanda Sashti Vrat:
Skanda Sashti or Kanda Sashti, mainly observed by Tamil Hindus is the most significant festival dedicated to Lord Murugan. Skanda Sashti falls on the sixth day of Karthika Masam and it is usually determined based on lunar month.

Devotees of Lord Murugan observe six days fasting during Kanda Sashti, which begins on the first day or Pirathamai of Karthika lunar month and concludes on the sixth day, which is popularly known as Soorasamharam day. Soorasamharam is the most significant day of the six days celebration. It is on this day Lord Murugan defeated Demon Surapadman and hence Soorasamharam is observed every year to celebrate the victory of good over evil.

It may be noted that the Soorasamharam day is decided as the day when Shasti Tithi is associated with Panjami Tithi. Due to this, most of the temples observe Kanda Sashti on Panjami Tithi if Shasti Tithi starts before sunset on Panjami Tithi.

Kanda Sashti is celebrated in a grand style at Thiruchendur Murugan Temple. The six days celebrations begins on Pirathamai of Karthika Month and concludes on Soorasamharam day. Thiru Kalyanam is celebrated on the next day of Soorasamharam.

Skanda Sashti Fasting:
Skanda Sashti fasting is very famous among many devotees. There are several ways in which Skanda Sashti is celebrated as a whole by emphasizing the victory of good over evil through the divine descent of Skanda to end the demonic forces and save mankind.

Skanda Sashti story:
There was once a demon named Surapadma. With his brothers Taraka and Simhamukhasura, he created havoc by disturbing gods and humans. Having received invincible powers from Lord Shiva, he abused them and indulged in evil ways.

Unable to bear their torture, the gods approached Lord Brahma and Sri Maha Vishnu. According to the blessing received by the devil, he could be killed by no less than the power of Lord Shiva himself. To the sincere prayers of all gods and human beings, Lord Shiva has decided to give birth to a divine son who inherited all his powers and glory to end the demon.

Skanda Sashti Fasting Procedure:
Skanda Sashti is a six day long fasting process. In 2016, the vrat starts on 31 October and lasts till the day of Skanda Sashti (6th November 2016). After the new moon day, the vrat starts on the day of Pratama (first day of the growing phase of lunar month) and extends till Sashti (sixth day).

After the day of the new moon, the vat begins on the day of Pratama (first day of the crescent phase of the lunar month) and extends to Sashti (sixth day).

The rigorousness of the fasting varies from person to person. On the whole, this is a popular kind of fasting that is believed to bestow the grace of Muruga in abundance. Especially those seeking progeny can highly benefit from this vrat.

Arupadaiveedu Temples Dedicated to Lord Murugan:
1) Palani Murugan Temple nearly 100 kilometers south east of Coimbatore.
2) Swamimalai Murugan Temple Nealy 11.6 kilometers from Kumbakonam.
3) Thiruthani Murugan Temple nearly 84 kilometers from Chennai.
4)Pazhamudircholai Murugan Temple nearly 10 kilometers north of Madurai.
5) Sri Subrahmanya Swami Devasthanam, Tiruchendur nearly 40 kilometers south of Thoothukudi.
6) Thirupparamkunram Murugan Temple nearly 10 kilometers south of Madurai.
Marudamalai Murugan Temple (a suburb of Coimbatore) is another important shrine.

2018 Skanda Sashti Vrat Dates | Skanda Sashti Vratam in 2018

One thought on “2018 Skanda Sashti Vrat Dates | Skanda Sashti Vratam in 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top