Telugu New Year – Ugadi Festival

Ugadi also known as Yugadi is celebrated as the New Year Day in Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka. On this day begins new Samvatsara, which is a cycle of sixty years. All the sixty Samvatsara are recognized by unique name.

In Maharashtra, Ugadi is popularly celebrated as Gudi Padwa.


As per Luni-Solar calendar, Ugadi is New Year day of Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh. In Luni-Solar calendar, the year is divided into months and days based on the position of the Moon and the Sun, whereas Solar calendar considers only the position of the Sun to divide the year into months and days. Due to this, Hindu New Year is celebrated at two different times of the year. The Hindu New Year based on Solar calendar has different names in different states. It is known as Puthandu in Tamil Nadu, Vaisakhi in Punjab, Bihu in Assam, Naba Barsha in West Bengal and Pana Sankranti in Orissa.

Ritual oil-bath is taken in the beginning of the day, which is followed by prayers. Oil bath and eating Neem leaves are compulsory rituals proposed by scriptures. Ugadi is not celebrated in North India, but on the same day they start nine days Chaitra Navratri Puja and eat Neem with Mishri to mark first day of Navratri.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment