Important Persons Chittoor

P Rajagopala Naidu | Rajanna Freedom Fighter

Paturi Rajagopala Naidu, better known as Rajanna (5 April 1920 – 21 September 1997), was an Indian freedom fighter, parliamentarian, and kisan (farmer) leader. He was an exponent of the peasant philosophy, and considered the father of the Indian Peasant Movement after Swami Sahajanand Saraswati. He was the political guru of Nara Chandrababu Naidu. He was born on 5 April 1920 at Diguvamagham to Smt.Paturi Lakshmamma and Shri.Paturi Srinivasulu Naidu. His primary education was at Diguvamagham Aided School, Secondary Education at District Board High School, Chittoor and his higher education was at Govternment College, Anantapur. Rajagopala Naidu married Smt. Amaravathamma, the Daughter of Mr Seenaiah Naidu, of Kondrajukalva village. After marriage, he joined as a teacher at Sholingur and later at Uttara Brahmana Palli, Elementary School, Diguvamagham. After that, he worked at Oriental publishing company, Madras for few days and at also at their Chittoor branch.

Rajagopala naidu joined the freedom movement inspired by Gandhi’s clarion call in 1930.
P Rajagopala Naidu led the ryot agitation in 1933. Three years later, he along with N.G.Ranga launched the Kisan Congress party. He held historic discussions with Gandhiji on the demand for a rythu-coolie state. He wrote a book, Bapu Blesses regarding his discussions with Gandhi.. Rajagopala Naidu quit the Congress Party and founded the Bharat Krishikar Lok Party and the Swatantra Party, along with N.G.Ranga who was a trenchant critic of the cooperative farming idea. Ranga became the founder-president of the Swatantra Party, while Rajagopla Naidu became as secretary and held that post for a decade. In the general elections held in 1962, the party won 25 seats and emerged as a strong Opposition. Rajagopla Naidu rejoined the Congress (I) in 1972 along with N.G.Ranga.

Rajagopala naidu’s Political career:

In 1955 he was Elected as MLA for Chittoor Constituency Krishilok Party.
In 1973 he was Elected as Member of Legislative Council for Chittoor Constituency.
In 1977 he was Elected as MP for Chittoor Constituency Congress.
In 1979 he was Elected as MP for Chittoor Constituency Congress.


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment