Temples in India Info: Unveiling the Divine Splendor

Hindu Spiritual & Devotional Stotrams, Mantras, and More: Your One-Stop Destination for PDFs, Temple Timings, History, and Pooja Details!

Shakti Peethas Shrines by Locations | ShaktiPeeth and Jyotirlingas

The Shakti Peethas are places of worship dedicated to the goddess “Shakti Devi”, the main woman of Hinduism and the main deity of the Shakta sect. They are spread throughout the Indian subcontinent.

This goddess is often associated with both Gowrī / Parvati, the benevolent goddess of harmony, marital happiness and longevity, with Durga, the goddess of strength and courage, and with Mahakali, the goddess of evil destruction.

Shakti Peetha History:

There was a great king named Daksha Prajapati he was the son of Lord Brahma. He had 27 daughters and Sati Devi is one of them. Sati Devi married Lord Shiva. When Dashka entered the arena of a yaga performed by Agni, everyone except Lord Shiva stood up with respect. Daksha was insulted by Lord Shiva’s behavior. Later, when Daksha himself performed a Yaga, he did not invite his daughter or son-in-law. Although Sati felt bad about the non-invitation, she wanted to attend the yaga against Lord Shiva’s wish. When Sati, attended the Yaga. no one cared about her and she felt insulted by the actions of her sisters and parents. Then when her father started abusing her husband, she couldn’t control her feelings and sacrificed herself instead of yagna creating Agni of the earth with the right thumb of her foot. Knowing this, Lord Siva pulled a bunch of Jhatha out of his head and hit him. In the ground. From there Lord Veerabhadra was born and ran to Yaga’s place and killed Daksha by chopping off his head. Later, Shiva went to the place and took the fire Sati’s body and started dancing with it. The world was terrified of this Tandava Nritya and to stop this Nritya, Vishnu used his Sudarshan chakra and completely cut Sati’s body into pieces. These body parts fell in various places in India and Srilanka. Wherever these parts fell, the places are called Shaktipeethas. There are 18 of these places and they are called Ashta (8) Dasa (10) Shakti Peethas.

Blue:- Adi Shakti Pithas
Red:- Astadasha Maha Shakti Pithas
Green:- Daksha Yagna Site

18 Maha Shakti Peethas Shrines and Astrogeography Positions:

SI NoPlace / CountryTemple NamePart of BodyShakti Name1st Coordinate 2st Coordinate
1Trincomalee (Sri Lanka)Sri Sankari PeethamGroinShankari DeviSagittarius/CapricornCancer
2Kanchipuram (Tamil Nadu)Kama kodi PeethamBack partSri Kanchi Kamakshi DeviPiscesSagittarius/Capricorn
3Praddyumnam (West Bengal)Pradyumna PeethamStomachSrunkhala Devi
4Mysore (Karnataka)Krounja PeethamHairChamundeshwari DeviCancerGemini
5Alampur (Telangana)Yohini PeethamUpper teethJogulamba DeviLibra/ScorpioPisces
6Srisailailam (Andhra Pradesh)Srisaila PeethamNeckSrisailam Bhramaramba DeviCapricornCancer
7Kolhapur (Maharashtra)Shri PeethamLeft EyeMahalakshmi DeviSagittarius/CapricornCancer
8Mahur (Maharashtra)Renuka PeethamRight HandMahurye EkaveerikaLibraPisces
9Ujjain (Madhya Pradesh)Ujjaini PeethamUpper lipMahakali DeviLeoLeo
10Pithapuram (Andhra Pradesh)Pushkarini PeethamLeft HandPuruhutika DeviLeoCancer
11Jajpur (Orissa)Oddyana PeethamNaval / NaviBiraja DeviTaurus
12Draksharamam (Andhra Pradesh)Draksharama PeethamLeft CheekManikyamba DeviAquariusVirgo
13Guwahati (Assam)Kamarupa PeethamVulva/YoniKamarupa DeviGemini/CancerScorpio
14Prayaga (Uttar Pradesh)Prayaga PeethamFingersMadhaveswari DeviCapricornCapricorn/Aquarius
15Jwalamukhi (Himachal Pradesh)Jwalamukhi PeethamHead PartVaishnavi Devi, Vaishno DeviCancerAquarius/Pisces
16Gaya (Bihar)Gaya PeethamBreastSarvamangala DeviGeminiPisces
17Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh)Varanasi PeethamWristVishalakshi DeviVirgoLeo
18Dantewada (Chattisgarh)ToothDanteswari Devi
18Kashmir (Pakistan)Sharada PeethamRight HandSaraswati DeviLeoPisces
Cancer: 7 Pisces: 7 Leo: 5 Capricorn: 5 Gemini: 3 Sagittarius: 3 Aquarius: 3 Virgo: 1 Libra: 1 Scorpio: 1 Taurus: 1 Aries: 0

Shakti Peethas By Map

12 Jyotirlinga and Astrogeographic Position:

SI NoLord NamePlace1st Coordinate 2st Coordinate
1SomnathPrabhas Patan, GujaratTaurusSagittarius
2Malikarjuna SwamySrisailam, Andhra PradeshCapricorn/AquariusCancer
3MahakaleshwarUjjain, Madhya PradeshCancerLeo
4OmkareshwarIndore, Madhya PradeshCancerCancer
5KedarnathKedarnath, UttarkhandCancerCancer
6BhimashankarKhed, MaharashtraSagittariusAquarius
7Kashi VishwanathVaranasi, Uttar PradeshVirgoGemini
8TrimbakeshwarTrimbak MaharashtraLeoCapricorn
9VaidyanathDeogar, JharkhandPiscesVirgo
10Aundha NagnathAundha Nagnath, MaharastraScorpioCancer
11RamanathaswamyTameshvaram, Tamil NaduSagittariusAries
12GrishneshwarEllora, MaharashtraCapricornCapricorn
13BhimashankarGuwahak, AssamSagittariusLibra
14NageshwarJamnagar, GujaratVirgoAquarius
15YageshwarAlmora, UttarakhandScorpioCapricorn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top