Best Spiritual Website

Durga Puja – Regional Names, Saraswati Puja, Durga Puja Names

Durga Puja is known by different names across different regions of the country. There is a unity in these diversities, which helps to create a unique attachment between people of different states. Considered as a very important Hindu religious festival, Durga Puja is celebrated to mark the return of the goddess to her native place. But, the people in different regions of the country narrate the story in a slightly different way and celebrate it under various names depending on the regional culture and beliefs. A variety of rituals and prayers are performed during the celebration of the festival.

Most Popular Regional Names of Durga Puja in India:

Durga Puja or Durga Pujo
Kullu Dussehra
Mysore Dussehra
Bommai Kolu
Navratri Puja
Ayudha Puja
Saraswati Puja

Durga Puja Names:

In West Bengal, Bihar, Assam, and Tripura, Durga puja is also called Akalbodhan, Sharadiya pujo, Sharodotsab, Maha Pujo, Maayer Pujo, Durga Pujo, or merely Puja or Pujo. In Bangladesh, Durga puja has been celebrated as Bhagabati Puja.

Durga puja is also referred by the names of related Shakta Hindu festivals such as Navaratri, celebrated on the same days elsewhere in India; in Bihar, Jharkhand, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Kerala, and Maharashtra, Kullu dussehra, celebrated in Kullu Valley, Himachal Pradesh; Mysore dussehra celebrated in Mysore, Karnataka; Bommai golu, celebrated in Tamil Nadu; Bommala koluvu, celebrated in Andhra Pradesh; and Bathukamma, celebrated in Telangana.

Durga Puja - Regional Names

Durga Puja – Regional Names, Saraswati Puja, Durga Puja Names

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top