Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!
Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views :
Home / Durga Puja / Pooja / Significance of Durga Puja Festival

Significance of Durga Puja Festival


Durga Puja is the day in which the Divine Mother is worshipped in different forms like Durga, Lakshmi and Saraswati. These three forms represent the three different aspects of the Goddess. During the nine-day-long festival, Durga is worshipped on the first three nights, Lakshmi on the next three nights, and Saraswati on the last three nights. The tenth day is Vijayadasami, which represents one’s victory over one’s own mind, which can be achieved only when Durga, Lakshmi, and Saraswati are worshipped.

Meaning of Durga:
Durga, meaning “one who is difficult to approach”, is the most popularly worshipped deity of Shakti. Devibhagavatham is completely dedicated to the divine depiction of Maa Durga. Goddess Durga is worshipped as the Mother of Universe and she is the manifestation of all good qualities including love, beauty, wealth and power.

Implications of The Idol:
The image of Goddess Durga symbolically represents protection of good and destruction of evil. It reveals the message that those who seek divinity should control their animal instincts. Hence Durga worship refers to merciless demolition all desires and evil qualities to unfold divinity within.

Durga Puja - Regional Names

Implication of Durga Puja:
ln Bengal, there is a nine-day worship of Goddess Durga. As per South Indian custom, small images of gods, birds, animals, and other animate and inanimate beings are placed on a decorated altar, known as ‘Kolu’ and worshipped during the nine-day festival. It is the day that initiates the beginning of learning and on this day a child begins to learn alphabet and the ceremony is known as ‘aksharabhyasa’. Usually students offer gifts to their teachers and pursue their blessings. People pray for success in their new activities.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • Pinterest
Note: We will give astrological reading / solution for those who are longing for children and do not give predictions for Job, etc.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *