Festival Dates

When is Durga Puja in 2021? | Durga Puja Detailed Information

Name of the Day Day Date
Mahalaya Wednesday 6th October 2021
Maha Panchami Monday 10th October 2021
Maha Sashti Tuesday 11th October 2021
Maha Saptami Wednesday 12th October 2021
Maha Ashtami Thursday 13th October 2021
Maha Navami Friday 14th October 2021
Vijaya Dashami Saturday 15th October 2021
Durga Puja Celebrated States: Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Punjab, Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Maharashtra, and Himachal Pradesh.

Durga Puja Celebrations in the different Indian States:

Different states of the country celebrate Durga puja in their own way. Some of them are:

Uttar Pradesh and Bihar:

Durga puja celebrations in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar is very similar to locals of both the states organise the feeding of little girls on the last day of the festival. The scripture ‘Durga Saptashati’ is also recited in temples.

West Bengal and Assam:

In Assam and West Bengal, grand pandals are set up all over with varying themes. On the last day of the festival, the idol is immersed in the holy river of Ganges.


In Gujarat, the festival of Durga puja is celebrated as Navratri with the famous dance ‘garba’ being performed by locals in events organised at night.

Tamil Nadu:

During the festival of Tamil Nadu, the locals worship the goddesses Durga, Saraswathi, and Lakshmi. In a tradition that is unique to the state of Tamil Nadu, young local girls display wooden dolls. The ritual is known as Golu.


During the 9 days of celebration of the Durga puja festival, ‘Jaagrans’ are held every night. On the eve of Ashtami, young girls from the age of 5 to 10 are given food, gifts, and money.

Andhra Pradesh:

On the eve of the festival in Andhra Pradesh, as per the ritual, the married women worship Goddess Gauri and the unmarried pray for the spouse of their choice. The Durga puja in Andhra Pradesh is known as Bathukamma Panduga. For worship purposes, the women create flower stacks which are immersed later in the river.


The locals of Chhattisgarh celebrate the festival for a period of 75 days. Bastar, a town in Chhattisgarh, is known to have celebrated the festival for over 500 years.


The festival of Durga puja is known as Dussehra in Karnataka. Mysore is famous for its celebrations of the festival.


In Maharashtra, people play Garba on the eve of the festival. Completing business deals and buying property is considered lucky at the time of the festival of Durga puja.

Himachal Pradesh:

The locals of Himachal Pradesh start the celebrations of the festival when it is about to end in the rest of the country. Dhalpur Maidan, situated in Kullu Valley, is famous for its celebrations.

Durga puja is considered one of the main festivals celebrated by the people of this country. Wherever you go, from Himachal in the north to Tamil Nadu in the south, it is celebrated with great fervor and enthusiasm.

Durga Puja Detailed Information:

Durga puja is one of the most famous festivals in the country, with celebrations that last more than a week. Each day has its own meaning and different activities are carried out each day. Some of them are:

Maha Shashti:

As per mythology, Maha Shashti is known as the day when Goddess Durga landed on earth with her 4 children: Goddess Saraswati, Goddess Laxmi, Lord Ganesha, and Lord Kartikeya. On the eve of Maha Shashti, the face of the idol of Goddess Durga is unveiled. The rituals performed on the day are ‘Amontron, ‘Bodhon’ and ‘Adhibash’. Drums known as ‘Dhaak’ are banged to signal the arrival of Goddess Durga everywhere.

Maha Saptami:

On the eve of Maha Saptami, the Maha puja is performed. Just before the sun rises, a banana tree is submerged in holy water and then it is covered with a new sari just like a newlywed woman. This ritual is known as ‘Kola bou’ or ‘Nabapatrika’. The banana tree is kept with the idol of Goddess Durga. Nine plants are also kept which represent the 9 forms of Goddess Durga.

Maha Ashtami:

As per mythology, Maha Ashtami is believed to be the day when Goddess Durga killed Mahishasura, also known as the ‘Buffalo devil’. In the olden days, a buffalo was sacrificed to mark the occasion. Hymns are chanted in Sanskrit and people offer their prayers. The prayers are known as ‘Anjali’. Girls that are less than 9 years are depicted as Goddess Durga and are worshipped. This ritual is known as ‘Kumari puja’. After this, the ‘Sandhi puja’ is performed.

Maha Navami:

After the ‘Sandhi puja’ ends, Maha Navami starts. The ‘Maha arati’ is performed on the eve of ‘Maha Navami’. This is followed by the organising of recreational activities after which the ‘bhog’ is served to everyone.

Maha Dashmi:

On the eve of Maha Dashami, the idol of Goddess Durga is immersed in the holy water of river Ganges. Before the immersion, processions are carried out by the worshippers on trucks with the beating of drums which is accompanied by singing and dancing. During the procession, women that are married throw vermillion on each other. In the evening, people visit each other’s houses and wish ‘Vijoy Dashmi’. Special food dishes are also prepared.

bilimveyaratilisagaci.com - Meritroyalbet - Dinamobet -

eskişehir eskort



- escort