Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!
Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views :
Home / Hinduism Perspective / Hinduism Glossary of Terms – D

Hinduism Glossary of Terms – D


Damaru =   a small drum
Dardhya =   Firmness of mind or concentration.
Darsana =   Seeing; system of philosophy
dEvAram, tEvAram =   The great Tamil hymns sung by saints sambandar, appar & sundarar on Lord shiva, first seven parts of thirumuRai, specifically 4th to 6 th thirumuRai – appar dEvAram
Desa =   Space; region
Desa adhva =   Kala, tattva, and bhuvana
deva =   1. divine, 2. essentials, elements
devi =   divine (feminine)
dharma =   righteousness, virtue, law, duty
Dharana =   Meditation; contemplation
Dhruva =   (1) Anuttara stage
dhUpa =   fragrant smoke, incense
dhvaja =   flag
Dhvani Yoga =   A dharana of anava upaya consisting of concentration on anahata nada (unstruck sound) arising within through prana sakti. This is also known as Varna Yoga
Dhyana =   meditation
Dhyani =   meditator
Dhyana Yoga =   The highest dharana of anava upaya in which pramana (knowledge), prameya (object of knowledge) and pramata (knower) are resulted as aspects of Samvid or foundational consciousness.
Dik =   Space
Dikcari =   Sub-species of Vamesvari, connected with bahiskaranas or outer senses.
Diksa =   (1) The gift of spiritual knowledge (2) The initiation ceremony pertaining to a disciple by which spiritual knowledge is imparted and the residual traces of his evil deeds are purified.
dIpa =   light
Dis =   Direction
Divya mudra =   Khecari mudra
Drdha =   Stable in concentration
Drsti =   Comprehensive vision
dyAna =   meditation
dvaita =   dualism
Dvadasanta =   Distance or end of 12 fingers. This is measured in various ways: (1) A distance of 12 fingers from the tip of the nose in outer space is known as bahya dvadasanta (2) A distance of 12 fingers from the bahya dvadasanta to the centre (hrdaya) of the body is known as antara dvadasanta (3) A distance of 12 fingers from hrdaya upto Kantha. (4) There is a dvadasanta from the palate to the middle of the eye-brows. (5) There is a dvadasanta from the middle or centre of the eye-brows uptoBrahmarandhra. This is known as urdhva dvadasanta. This distance is of use only when the kundalini awakens.
dvAdashAnta =   mystic place twelve units above the head
Dvaitham =   Dualism.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • Pinterest
Note: We will give astrological reading / solution for those who are longing for children and do not give predictions for Job, etc.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *