Durga Stotram

9 Goddesses Names of Navratri | Navratri Navdurga | Nine Durga Avatars

Navdurga, which means 9 Durgas, is the manifestation of Maa Durga in 9 different forms. The concept of Navdurga comes from the goddess Parvati. Conceptually, Navdurga is the phase of the life of the goddess Parvati, considered the supreme power of all goddesses. Navdurga is worshipped during the four navrati of the year.

Nine forms of Maa Durga are:

1) Devi Siddhidatri
2) Devi Kushmanda
3) Devi Brahmacharini
4) Devi Shailputri
5) Devi Mahagauri
6) Devi Chandraghanta
7) Devi Skandamata
8) Devi Katyayani
9) Devi Kalaratri

9 forms of Maa Durga and How She got Her Names:

Devi Siddhidatri:-

At the beginning of the universe, Lord Rudra worshipped Adi Parashakti for creation. It is believed that the goddess Adiparashakti had no form. The supreme goddess of power, AdiParashakti, appeared in the form of Siddhidatri from the left half of Lord Shiva.

Devi Kushmanda:-

After taking the form of Siddhidatri, the goddess Parvati began living in the center of the Sun to release energy into the universe. Since then, the goddess is known as Kushmanda. Kushmanda is the goddess who has the power and ability to live in the sun. The luminosity and radiance of her body are as luminous as that of the sun.

Devi Brahmacharini:-

After the form of Kushmanda, the goddess Parvati was born in the house of Daksha Prajapati. In this way, the goddess Parvati was a great Sati and her unmarried form is worshipped as goddess Brahmacharini.

Devi Shailputri:-

After self-immolating herself as goddess Sati, the goddess Parvati was born as the daughter of the Lord Himalayas. In Sanskrit, Shail means the mountain and that is why the goddess was known as Shailputri, the daughter of the mountain.

Devi Mahagauri:-

According to Hindu mythologies, the sixteen-year-old goddess Shailputri was extremely handsome and had a white complexion. Because of her extremely white complexion, she was known as the goddess Mahagauri.

Devi Chandraghanta:-

The goddess Chandraghanta is the married form of the goddess Parvati. After marrying Lord Shiva, the goddess Mahagauri began to adorn her forehead with half of Chandra and that is why the goddess Parvati was known as the goddess Chandraghanta.

Devi Skandamata:-

When the goddess became the mother of Murugan also known as Skanda, Kartikeya. Hence Mata Parvati was known as the goddess Skandamata.

Devi Katyayani:-

To destroy the demon Mahishasura, the goddess Parvati took this form of the goddess Katyayani. It was the most violent form of the goddess Parvati. In this way, the goddess Parvati is also known as the warrior goddess.

Devi Kalaratri:-

When the goddess Parvati removed the outer golden skin to kill the demons called Shumbha and Nishumbha, she was known as the goddess Kalaratri. Kalaratri is the fiercest and fiercest goddess Parvati.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment