Temples in India Info: Hindu Spiritual & Devotional Stotrams, Mantras

Your One-Stop Destination for PDFs, Temple Timings, History, and Pooja Details!

Navagrahas and Their Wives Names, Elements, Benefits, Effects

Nine Planets and Their Consorts Names:

Surya – Usha and Chaya
Chandra – Rohini
Mangal – Shakti
Budha – Ila
Guru – Tara
Shukra – Sukirti
Shani – Neela
Rahu – Simhi
Ketu – Chitralekha

About Navagrahas / Nine Planets:

Navagrahas belong to Hindu astronomy and play an important role in the Hindu astronomical sphere. Hindu astronomy, whose origins date back to the Vedas, refers to the location of nine planets and their influence on the world and an individual. According to Hindu astrology, the position of the planets at birth determines their potential in life.

The nine planets are collectively called Navagrahas. Hindus worship these 9 planets to overcome any obstacle or bad luck. They are found mainly in all temples and worshipers pray the Navagrahas before praying to another deity.

Of these nine planets, seven are named after the planets of the solar system, and the other two are actually demons who have managed to reach this group through deceit: Rahu and Ketu. Depending on their location in the planetary system, they are considered auspicious or inauspicious. While the Navagrahas are in each temple, some temples are dedicated exclusively to them. One of these temples is the Navagraha temple on the outskirts of Ujjain.

Effects of Navagrahas:

In Hindu astrology, Navagrahas affects the happiness, success, and overall prosperity of a person. The positive and negative, good and bad influences of each of these nine planets are the result of factors such as the specific location of the planets in the natal chart, and so on. Planets possessing Sattva nature are Jupiter, Sun and Moon. Planets bearing rajas are Venus and Mercury while planets with Tamas nature are Mars, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu.

These nine planets of Vedic astrology are treated as deities endowed with powers, of a nature and of specific characteristic qualities, according to what each of these offers offers, whether positive or negative for men and women.

Navagrahas - Nine Planets

Iconography of Navagrahas:

Sun / Surya Bhagavan:

In the group of other planets, he is normally shown facing towards east, standing in the center. Around him are the rest of the planets facing in all different direction but not towards each other. He rides are chariot with one wheel which is pulled by seven horses symbolizing the seven colors of white light and seven days of the week. He is also known as Ravi.

Moon / Chandra:

In the images, he is never portrayed as a complete person. Only his upper body with two hands holding a lotus each, riding a chariot pulled by 10 horses is shown. He is also known as Soma.

Mars / Mangala:

Mangala is a Ferocious God holding with two holding weapons and 2 in mudras. His transport is a ram.

Mercury / Budha:

Budha has four hands and rides on a chariot or Lion. Out of which, three of his hands holds a sword, a shield and a mace and the fourth hand is in a mudra.

Jupiter / Brihaspathi:

He is the teacher of Gods and is praised in Rig Veda. He is shown sitting on a chariot pulled by 8 horses each showing one branch of knowledge.

Venus / Sukra:

Sukra is the teacher of the Demons. He has four hands and rides on a chariot pulled by 8 horses. Three of his hands hold a staff, a rosary, a vessel of gold while the fourth hand is held in a mudra.

Saturn / Sani Bhagavan:

Sani is a god who makes or breaks fortunes by his planetary position for which individuals fear him. He is shown with four hands riding on a chariot or a buffalo or even a vulture. He has three hands in which he holds an arrow, a bow and a javelin while his other hand is held in a mudra.


He somewhat looks like Budha (Mercury) but both Gods differ in fundamental nature. Just like how Budha rides a white lion, he is shown riding a black lion. But just like Budha, he carries all the same weapons.


In Sanskrit, Ketu means comet. It is said that he has a tail of a serpent in his body and his nature very much matched to that of a comet. In pictures, he shown riding a vulture and holding a mace.

Navagraha and their Elements/Tatva:

Space = Jupiter
Air = Saturn and Rahu
Fire = Sun, mars ketu
Water = Moon and Venus
Earth = Mercury

Navagraha Nature: Benefice / Malefic:

Greater Benefice = Jupiter
Lesser Benefice = Venus
General Benefice = Moon and mercury
Greater malefic = Saturn and Rahu
Lesser malefic = Mars and Ketu
General Malefic = Sun

Navagraha Temples:

Surya Navagrahastalam — Sooriyanar Kovil
Chandra Navagrahastalam — Kailasanathar Temple, Thingaloor
Angaarakan Navagrahastalam — Vaitheeswaran Kovil
Budha Navagrahastalam — Thiruvenkadu
Guru Navagrahastalam — Alangudi
Sukra Navagrahastalam — Agniswarar Temple, Kanjanur
Shani Navagrahastalam — Thirunallar Saneeswaran Temple
Raahu Navagrahastalam — Sri Naganathaswamy Temple, Thirunageswaram
Ketu Navagrahastalam — Keezhperumpallam Temple

2 thoughts on “Navagrahas and Their Wives Names, Elements, Benefits, Effects

  1. I need to some donation to kalahasti temple due to Corona I couldn’t travel do you know any media through which I can donte

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top