The Perfection of Yoga

The Perfection Of Yoga | The Perfection of Yoga

The Perfection of Yoga From Page 59 to 61.

It is a fact therefore that in the progress of the living entity toward the perfection of yoga, birth in a family of yogis or devotees is a great boon, for such a birth gives on? a special impetus.

Bhagavan Sri Krishna
prayatnad yatamanas tu
yogi samsuddha-kilbisah
aneka-jan ma-sarhsiddhas
tato yati param gatim

“But when the yogi engages himself with sincere endeavor in making further progress, being washed
of all contaminations, then ultimately, after many, many births of practice, he attains the supreme goal.” (Bg. 6.45) When one is finally freed from all contaminations, he attains the supreme perfection of the yoga system-Krsna consciousness. Absorption in Krsna is the perfect stage, as Kr?Qa Himself confirms:

bahunarh janmanam ante
jnanavan mam prapadyate
vasudevah sarvam iti
sa mahatma sudurlabhah

“After many births and deaths, he who is actually in knowledge surrenders unto Me, knowing Me to be the cause of all causes and all that is. Such a great soul is very rare.” (Bg.7.19) Thus after many lifetimes of executing pious activities, when one be comes freed from all contaminations arising from illusory dualities, he engages in the transcendental service of the Lord. Sri Krsna concludes His discourse on this subject in this way:

yogmam apt sarvesam
mad-gatensn tarst mana
sraddhavan bhajate yomam
sa me yuktatamo matah

“And of all yogis, he who always abides in Me with. great faith, worshiping Me in transcendental loving service, is most intimately united with Me in yoga and is the highest of all.” (Bg. 6.4 7)

It therefore follows that the culmination of all yogas lies in bhakti-yoga, the rendering of devotional service unto Krsna. Actually, all of the yo gas delineated in Bhagavad-gita end on this note, for Krsna is the ultimate destination of all the yoga systems. From the beginning of karma-yoga to the end of bhakti-yoga is a long way to self-realization. Karmayoga, without fruitive results, is the beginning of this path. When karma-yoga increases in knowledge and renunciation, the stage is called janana-yoga, or the yoga of knowledge. When janana-yoga increases in meditation on the Supersoul by different physical processes, and the mind is on Him, it is called
astanga-yoga. And, when one surpasses astanga-yoga and comes to worship the Supreme Personality of
Godhead Krsna, that is called bhakti-yoga, the culmination. Factually, bhakti-yoga is the ultimate
goal, but to analyze bhakti-yoga minutely one has to understand the other processes. The yogi who is progressive is therefore on the true path to eternal good fortune. One who sticks to a particular point and does not make further progress is called by that particular name-karma-yogi, jnanana-yogi, dhyanayogi, raja-yogi, hatha-yogi, etc.-but if one is fortunate enough to come to the point of bhakti-yoga, Krsna consciousness, it is to be understood that he has surpassed all the other yoga systems.

Krsna consciousness is the last link in the yogic chain, the link that binds us to the Supreme Person, Lord Sri Krsna. Without this final link, the chain is practically useless. Those who are truly interested in the perfection of the yoga process should immediately take to Krsna consciousness by chanting Hare Krsna, understanding Bhagavad-gita, and rendering service to Krsna through this Society for Krsna Consciousness and thereby surpass all other systems and
attain the ultimate goal of all yoga-love of Krsna.