2019 Meghalaya National and Regional Public Holidays

January 01New Year’s Day
January 26 Republic Day
March 21 Holi
April 01 Bank Holiday
April 17 Mahavir Jayanti
April 19 Good Friday
June 05 Idul Fitr
July 17 U Tirot Sing Day
August 12 Idul Juha
August 15 Independence Day
October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday
October 08 Dussehra
October 27 Deewali
November 08 Wangala Festival
November 11 Guru Nanak Birthday
November 23 Seng Kut Snem
December 12 Pa Togan Nengminja Sangma
December 18 Death Anniversary of U SoSo Tham
December 25 Christmas Day
December 30 U Kiang Nangbah


Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday are observed nationally.

Public Holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates correspond to the holidays of the Indian government, when government offices will be closed throughout the country. In addition, there are many festivals and fairs that are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which vary from year to year.

Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.

Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year’s Day are observed nationally.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment