Home / Rahu Ketu Puja / Navagraha Temples in Tamil Nadu | Nine Planets and their Wifes

Navagraha Temples in Tamil Nadu | Nine Planets and their Wifes

There is a group of Navagraha temples in Tamil Nadu, near Kumbakonam, built during the reign of the Chola Dynasty. According to Hindu legends, Sage Kalava suffered from serious health problems as well as leprosy. With great devotion he prayed to Navagrahas to be healed of their ills. The Navagrahas satisfied with his dedication gave him treatment. However, Brahma was extremely unhappy with this, because he felt that the nine planets had no authority to bless people. He cursed the Navagrahas for diseases and sent them to earth Vellurukku Vanam, the white jungle of wildflowers, the modern Suryanar Kovil. The 9 planets were extremely sad for this series of events and decided to pray Lord Shiva to relieve them of their agony. Shiva appeared to them and told them that the place belonged to them and that they had to honor the devotees who worshiped them from the place. Each temple is located in a different locations and is considered home of one of the Navagrahas.

Navagraha Temples:

1) Surya Navagrahastalam — Sooriyanar Kovil
2) Chandra Navagrahastalam — Kailasanathar Temple, Thingaloor
3) Angaarakan Navagrahastalam — Vaitheeswaran Kovil
4) Budha Navagrahastalam — Thiruvenkadu
5) Guru Navagrahastalam — Alangudi
6) Sukra Navagrahastalam — Agniswarar Temple, Kanjanur
7) Shani Navagrahastalam — Thirunallar Saneeswaran Temple
8) Raahu Navagrahastalam — Sri Naganathaswamy Temple, Thirunageswaram
9) Ketu Navagrahastalam — Keezhperumpallam Temple

Navagraha Temples Route Map

Nine Planets and Their Consorts Names:

Surya - Usha and Chaya
Chandra - Rohini
Mangal - Shakti
Budha - Ila
Guru - Tara
Shukra - Sukirti
Shani - Neela
Rahu - Simhi
Ketu - Chitralekha

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment