Rahu Ketu Puja

Astrological Terminology | Planets and Zodiac

Astrological Terminology:

Trines: The 5th, 9th and the 1st houses from the Lagna. Upachaya: The 3rd, 6th, 10th and 11th houses from a sign.
Vakra (Retrograde): Planets that do not move in the regular order of signs. Rahu and Ketu always move in the reverse direction and therefore always in Vakra. Planets Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn appear to reverse their motion, observed from the earth, during certain periods. They get back to the regular motion after a while. These planets when they apparently move in the reverse direction are considered to be in Vakra or Retrograde.
Vedha: A Vedha planet is one that prevents or cuts off the benefic or malefic effects manifested by another planet.
Vernal and Autumnal Equinox: The Vernal Equinox and Autumnal Equinox, occurring about March 21 and September 21, are the only two days in a year when day and night are of equal length. The Autumnal signs are Libra, Scorpio and Sagittarius and the Vernal signs are Aries, Taurus and Gemini. At each equinox, day and night are of equal length. To set out for any venture at the time of the equinox is believed to be inauspicious with disastrous results.
Vargothama: Planet in the same house, both in Rasi and Navamsa. A Lagna if it is of the same sign both in Rasi and Navamsa is called Vargothama Lagna.
Recal: The horoscope at birth from which the past, present and future are determined. It is otherwise called Lagna.
Quadrants: The 4th, 7th and 10th and 1st houses from any sign or Lagna.
Paksha: The fortnight during which, as the Moon goes on in its orbit, the enlightened part comes more and more into view till the full Moon when the whole of the illuminated disk will be towards us is called Sukla Paksha. The next fortnight during which her enlightened side is turned more and more from us and it comes into conjunction with the Sun forms Krishna Paksha.
Sukla means white and Sukla Paksha is the period when the Moon is waxing.
Krishna means dark and the Krishna Paksha is the period when the Moon is waning.
Thithi: A thithi is a day of the Moon. Thithis ar 15 in number neckoned from New Moon day to next Full Moon or from the Full Moon to the New Moon. The 1st day i.e., the day following the New Moon or the Full Moon is called Prathama, 2nd Dhwithiya, 3rd Thrithiya, 4th Chathurthi, 5th Panchami, 6th Shashti, 7th Sapthami, 8th Ashtami, 9th Navami, 10th Dasami, 11th Ekadasi, 12th Dwadasi, 13th Thrayodasi, 14th Chaturdasi.
Tarabala: If we have to assess whether a day’s star is good or bad to us. We have to count from our star to the day’s star and divide it by 9. The balance of numbers indicates the result. They are called as follows :

No. Result
1 Janma
2 Sampath
3 Vipath
4 Kshema
5 Prathyak
6 Sadhak
7 Vadha
8 Mithra
9 Param Mitra
Good Stars are 2,4,6 and 9

Dieties Symbolising the Planets and Herbs:

The following table shows the degree of main exaltation of the different planets.

Planets Diety Herbs
    Sun Lord Siva Arka Plant
    Moon Gowri Palasa Plant
    Mars Kartika Khadhra
    Mercury Sri Vishnu Apamarga
    Jupiter Dakshina Murthy Fig tree (piple tree)
    Venus Lakshmi Audumbara
    Saturn Sastra Vanhi (Shami or Banyan tree)
    Rahu Ganesha Darbha (Kusha)

Horoscopic Directions:

1st House stands for East
7th House stands for West
4th House stands for South
10th House stands for North

Malefics, Benefics, Death inflictors and Raja Yoga giver for 12 Rasis and Langna:

Saptha Rishis: Marachi, Athri, Angiras, Agasthya, Balaha, Krathu and Vasishta are considered to be the seven Gurus (masters) of Vedic India.

 Lagna Malefics Benefics Death Planets Rajayoga Karakas
 Mesha Saturn, Mars, Venus Sun, Jupiter Mercury, Venus Saturn
 Vrishaba Jupiter, Venus, Moon Saturn, Sun Jupiter, Venus Moon Saturn
 Mithuna Mars, Jupiter Venus Mars, Sun, Moon Venus
 Karkataka Venus, Saturn, Mercury Jupiter, Mars Venus, Saturn, Mercury Mars
 Leo Sun, Mercury, Venus Jupiter, Mercury, Venus Saturn, Venus Mars
 Kanya Jupiter, Moon Venus, Mercury, Mars Jupiter, Moon, Sun Venus, Mercury
 Thula Sun, Jupiter, Mars Saturn, Moon, Mercury Jupiter, Sun Saturn
 Vrischika Mercury, Venus, Saturn Jupiter, Sun, Moon Mercury, Venus, Saturn Sun, Moon
 Dhanus Saturn, Venus Mars, Venus Venus, Moon, Mercury Sun, Mercury
 Makara Mars, Jupiter, Moon Vem, Mercury Mars, Jupiter Venus
 Kumbha Mars, Jupiter, Moon Venus Mars, Jupiter, Moon Mars, Venus
 Meena Venus, Saturn, Sun, Mercury Moon. Mars Saturn, Venus, Sun, Mercury Saturn, Jupiter

Strength of planets during day and night:

Moon, Saturn, Mars are strong during night times.
Sun, Jupiter, Venus are strong during day times.
Mercury is strong during the day as well as night times

Important Sanskrit works to be consulted for mastery over the subject:

Important Sanskrit Authors. Vasista, Narada, Sakthi, Parashara, Vyasa, Vishnugupta, Havana, Devala, Maya, Jaimini, Manitha, Satyaacharya, Jivasharma, Maudaya.

No. Work No. Work
    1     Kalamrita     16     Daivagna Vilana
    2     Sarvatha Chintamani     17     Horapradpika
    3     Manasagari     18     Suryasiddanta
    4     Mahurtha Darpana     19     Navanitarnava
    5     Gopalarathnakara     20     Parashara Hora
    6     Saravali     21     Daivagna Bhushana
    7     Nakshathra     22     Jathaka Thathwa
    8     Jinendra Mala     23     Jathaka Parijatha
    9     Ududasha Pradipika     24     Jathaka Adashamarga
    10     Jathakalankara     25     Brihat Jathaka
    11     Yogavali     26     Horashara
    12     Jathakakalanithi     27     Krishna Misriya
    13     Karale     28     Phaladeepika
    14     Jathakachandrika     29     Uttarakalamrita
    15     Daivagni Bharana

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment