Best Spiritual Website

Vaikuntha Ekadashi – The Significance, Origin & History of the Festival

Vaikuntha Ekadashi is also known as Mukkoti Ekadashi. Vaikuntha Ekadashi is the most important day of the lunar calendar. It is believed that Vishnu resides in Vaikuntha on this day. It is believed that on this day, Vishnu closes his eyes to rest after two long periods of time, one for the creation and the other for his destruction of the universe.

Vaikuntha Ekadashi gets its name from “Vaikuṇṭha” which means “the residence of Vishnu” in the Sanskrit language.

What makes Vaikuntha Ekadashi so important? The story behind it goes back to when Lord Vishnu was an infant called Nara-Narayana with a dual personality

Vaikuntha Ekadashi is known as Swarga Vathil Ekadashi in Malayalam Calendar

History of Vaikuntha Ekadashi:

Vaikuntha Ekadashi is a Vaishnava festival, which falls on the 11th day from the new moon During the Hindu month of Kartika, we celebrate the Vaikunta Ekadashi. This day marks the end of the Chaturmasa, a four-month period that begins with Ashwina Ekadashi and ends with Vaikuntha Ekadashi. The word “Vaikunta” means “the place beyond.”

Significance of Vaikuntha Ekadashi:

Vaikunta Ekadashi is one of the most auspicious occasions for Hindus. This day is considered to be the birthday of Lord Vishnu. It falls on the 11th day or Dwitiya in the month of Margasirsa as per the Hindu calendar.

Origin of Vaikuntha Ekadashi:

Vaikunth Ekadashi is a very auspicious Hindu festival that falls on the 11th day of the waxing moon during the month of Margasirsha, which usually happens in December. The significance of this festival lies in it being a day on which Lord Vishnu descended to Earth, or Vaikuntha, for his people’s salvation.

Some Important Temples List:

Vaikuntha Ekadashi is celebrated in all Sri Vishnu temples all across India. Below are some famous temples list.

  1. Sri RanganathaSwamy Temple, Srirangam, Tamil Nadu. Also known as Srirangam Temple, Thiruvaranga Tirupati, Sri Ranganatha Temple and Aranganathar Temple.
  2. Sri Venkateswara Swamy Vaari Temple, Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh. Also known as Kaliyuga Prathyaksha Daivam, Tirumala Temple, Tirupati Temple, Tirupati Balaji Temple. Malayappa Temple, Tirupati Govinda Temple and Tirupati Srinivasa and Tirupati Timmappa Temple.
  3. Sita Ramachandraswamy Temple, Bhadrachalam, Telangana. Also known as Bhadradri temple.
  4. Sri Parthasarathy Swamy Temple Triplicane, Chennai, Tamilnadu.
  5. Ranganathaswamy Temple, Srirangapatna, Karnataka.
  6. Sri Lakshmi Venkateswara Swamy Temple, Kadapa, Andhra Pradesh. Also known asDevuni Kadapa
Vaikuntha Ekadashi – The Significance, Origin & History of the Festival

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top